Saturday, December 24, 2011

Fourth Series of Malaysian Bank Notes

KUALA LUMPUR: THE RM20 banknote has made a comeback after a 16- year absence, with the launch of the latest currency series by Bank Negara Malaysia.

The fourth series of the currency will see newly designed banknotes in denominations of RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20, RM50 and RM100.

These notes will carry enhanced security features, including shadow image, clear window, watermark portrait with pixel and highlighted numerals.

They will also have additional features such as colour shifting security thread, micro lens thread, perfect see-through register, coloured glossy patch for public recognition and tactile identification for the visually impaired to identify the notes.

Although the new banknotes will be in circulation only from the middle of next year, the RM50 note, however, is already in circulation.

The new RM1 and RM5 are polymer notes, while the others will remain paper-based.
Launched by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who is also Finance Minister, yesterday, the new series will also have new coins minted in denominations of 5 sen, 10 sen, 20 sen and 50 sen.

The coins will be in circulation from next month.

Themed "Distinctively Malaysia", the new series incorporates elements of the nation's natural treasures, culture and heritage.

All the banknotes retain the portrait of the nation's first Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Rahman ibni Tuanku Muhammad and the national flower hibiscus.

The reverse sides of the banknotes feature the wau bulan for the RM1, the rhinoceros hornbill for the RM5, Rafflesia for the RM10, hawksbill and leatherback turtle for the RM20, oil palm and biotechnology for the RM50 and Mount Kinabalu and rock formation of Gunung Api valley for the RM100.

The new series will circulate with the existing series, which will be eventually phased out.
The bank has also given six months to vendors of cash machines to calibrate their machines for the new notes.

In conjunction with the launch, Bank Negara is issuing commemorative bank notes in two types of collections.

There are 500,000 sets of RM1 and RM5 priced at RM15 each while another 500,000 sets of RM20 will be sold at RM30 each.

They are for sale at its headquarters here and its branches in Penang, Johor Baru, Kuala Terengganu, Kuching and Kota Kinabalu.

*Taken from NST Online

Related posts you may want to read

No comments: